Leadership and Learning with Web 2.0

I just finished my final Masters coursework paper for the year. As a blogger, I frequently struggle with adjusting back and forth between my casual blogger’s if-you-feel-it-write-it approach and the academic vet-everything-before-you-even-think-about-it approach. It’s frustrating when you finish a post only to realise that you’ve made an ordinarily accessible topic overly academic, just as it is when you’ve completely missed the mark by writing a piece better suited to the blogosphere than the lofty halls of academia.

Nonetheless, I’ve been very privileged this semester to be able to explore my capacity as an ICT leader in building a Web 2.0-enabled learning design for my school and evaluate our recent efforts with Google Apps for Education and Moodle. The sum total is the following paper I wrote, which argues that where my system falls short is in compromising the leadership potential of e-learning teacher innovators with increasing managerial demands much better suited to professional IT managers than teachers like myself.

I’m a lucky one. Schools like mine have employed full-time IT managers for at least the last few years, letting me get on with the business of leading my staff and students to critically select and implement technologies in a way that creatively empowers the user to construct their own learning. The biggest challenge is asking teachers to re-think what it means to learn in the first place. Ultimately there’s little place for didacticism and teacher-centred transmission in my vision. Just as well I have the time and patience to work on making this vision a reality, eh?

About Michael

Cellist, singer/songwriter, school teacher, nerd, recent scooter enthusiast and failed philosopher.
This entry was posted in Academic, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

